Fc Bayern München / Personal Writing / 11/7/2019

History of Fc Bayern Munich

No other German football team has collected more trophies than FC Bayern Munich. The club comes from Säbener Straße for 25 national championships. The first title was won in 1932, the other 24 in the Bundesliga, founded in 1963. But also in the DFB Cup FC Bayern is with 18 titles lonely top.

First Successes

The success story of the FCB began in 1900, when FC Bayern quickly gained a leading role first in Munich and then in the Bavarian football region. In 1920 the club already had more than 700 members, and after the South German Championship the Bavarians won the German Championship for the first time in 1932. When the German Football Bundesliga was founded in 1963, FC Bayern was initially only a spectator – despite winning the DFB Cup in 1957. Two years later, however, the Reds under the leadership of legendary coach Tschik Cajkovski also kicked in the upper house. An extraordinary success story began. Because in addition to Franz Beckenbauer, one of the first great names in the history of the club, Franz Beckenbauer, is already appearing. Several more should follow.

Ascent to the top European club 

The golden decade of the association was undoubtedly the 1970s. The FCB has been playing in the Olympic Stadium since 1972. Although the club won only four national titles in this decade, the myth of FC Bayern Munich began. Under coach Udo Lattek, the international champions achieved an almost unsurpassed masterpiece with their winning streak in the European Cup of Champions (the predecessor of the Champions League) from 1974 to 1976 and winning the World Cup. Franz Beckenbauer, Paul Breitner, Uli Hoeneß, Gerd Müller and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge still stand for the successes of that time. Gerd Müller, the bomber of the nation, still leads the list of the best scorers today.

The new millennium

But it should be the last big international titles for the record champion until the turn of the millennium. It was only under coach Ottmar Hitzfeld that FC Bayern started to play at the top of the Champions League again. After the unfortunate final defeat against Manchester United in 1999, the time had come on 23 May 2001: FC Bayern won the Champions League again after 25 years. FC Bayern has already won a total of eight German championships this millennium, the DFB Cup six times, the World Cup once and the Champions League twice. Since the 2005/06 season, the impressive Allianz Arena, built for the 2006 World Cup, has been the club’s new venue.

2013 – the year of triple triumph

In the 2012/2013 season, FC Bayern finally managed to bring the German championship back to Munich after losing last year’s final at home and second place in the championship and to perfect their long-awaited victory in the Champions League. In the first German Champions League final, the German record champion won 2:1 against Borussia Dortmund in London’s Wembley Stadium. FC Bayern was the first German and seventh European club to achieve the big triple. Since then, Bavaria has dominated the Bundesliga – and in 2019 they won the championship for the seventh time in a row.